DUI/DWI charges in California are issued to those who are found to be driving a motor vehicle while either under the influence of alcohol or drugs to the point that motor skills and cognitive function are impaired. It is also illegal for either the driver or passenger to have open containers of alcohol in the vehicle while driving. Intoxication is measured according to levels of Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC). The legal limit for driving in California is .08.
Most DUI/DWI offenses are charged as misdemeanors; however, if an accident with injury is involved, the charge can become a felony. In California, if you are stopped by a police officer and suspected to be driving under the influence of alcohol, you are required to get in touch with the DMV within 10 days to schedule a hearing date. Failure to do so will result in your license being suspended for 30 days.
Whatever the details, a DUI/DWI charge against you is a serious matter with far-reaching implications against you, your future, and your reputation. You need the best legal defense available.
Dan Koukol is a DUI Defense Attorney that gets great results in criminal legal defense. Call (877) 487-7079.
Call today to set an appointment for your confidential free consultation.